Sarah’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

<3 Du'a

If you stay steadfast upon the truth and remain patient during trials, the pain will disappear, and the fatigue will go, and there will remain for you the reward In Shā’ Allāh. Ibn Al-Qayyim says, “And because there is no escape from the pain in full, Allāh Subhānahu comforts whoever chooses the easy, temporary pain over the great, continuous pain with His Statement:

مَنْ كَانَ يَرْجُو لِقَاءَ اللهِ فَإِنَّ أَجَلَ اللهِ لَآتٍ وَهُوَ السَّمِيعُ الْعَلِيمُ
Whoever hopes for the Meeting with Allāh, then Allāh’s Term is surely coming. and He is the All-Hearer, the All-Knower. [11]

So He made an ending for the period of suffering, and this ending must come, and it is the Day of His meeting, where the slave will then savor the greatest delight over the pain he endured for His Sake and for His pleasure, and his delight and happiness and jubilation will be in accordance with the suffering he endured for Allāh. And He affirmed this consolation and diversion with the hope of His meeting, so that the slave would carry his longing for the meeting with his Lord and Protector over bearing the hardship of the brief pain. Rather, perhaps the longing for His meeting prevents [the slave] from witnessing the pain or feeling it [12]. And because of this, the Prophet صلى الله عليه و سلم asked His Lord for the longing for His meeting, so he said in the supplication that Ahmad and Ibn Hibbān narrated, “Allāhumma, I ask you by you knowledge of the unseen, and your Power over the creation, cause me to live so long life is better for me, and cause me to die if death is better for me, and I ask You [to grant me] the fear of you in private and in the public, and I ask You for the word of Truth during [times of] anger and during [times of] contentment, and I ask You for moderation during poverty and wealth, and I ask you for comfort that does not cease, and I ask You for a delight of the eyes that does not end, and I ask You for pleasure after [Your] Decree, and I ask You for a good life after death, and I ask You for the delight of gazing upon Your Face, and I ask you for the longing for Your meeting, without any harmful tribulation or misleading trial. Allāhumma, adorn us with the adornment of Faith, and make us guides who are upon [the correct] guidance.” [An-Nasā’ī 3/54-55; Ahmad 4/364. Sahīh An-Nasā’ī 1/281; Sahīh Al-Jāmi’ #1301]

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

